什麼是PCB過孔

威爾精通電子元器件, PCB生產工藝及組裝技術, 並具有豐富的生產監督和質量控制經驗. 在保證質量的前提下, 將為客戶提供最有效的生產解決方案.
內容
什麼是PCB過孔

PCB 製造商越來越專注於設計更小的印刷電路板. 摩科科技 沒有被遺漏; 我們集成了更少的通孔元件,同時融入了更多的表面貼裝技術 (貼片機). 用於大型電鍍通孔, 我們在板上分配更少的空間. 代替電鍍通孔, 我們越來越多地使用 SMT 組件. 我們所有的 PCB 都設計為使用過孔.
通孔是指在 PCB 中發現的鍍通孔,用於跟踪從電路板表面層到內部和其他層的跡線. 可以電鍍 PCB 過孔以形成電氣連接, 它們可以機械鑽孔.
雖然過孔在多層PCB板中是必不可少的, 設計和生產它們具有挑戰性. 它們為電路板不同層之間的熱電流和電流建立路徑. 本質上, 過孔是類型和大小不同的通道.

PCB過孔類型

有 5 PCB過孔類型. 他們是;
1. 盲孔——盲孔是一種激光,它只從一層傳輸到下一層.
2. 埋孔——這種類型的孔位於內部層之間,當存在順序或多層項目時需要.
3. 過孔 – 通孔通過從上到下鑽孔將兩個外層連接起來.
4. 微孔——微孔是使用激光鑽孔而不是機械鑽孔, 允許小於 0.006 英寸.
5. Via-in-pad – 該過孔位於表面貼裝元件的焊盤內.

印刷電路板過孔類型

盲孔對比. 埋孔

埋入式和盲式用於連接 PCB 的不同層. 埋孔提供內層互連,因為電路板完全隱藏在 PCB 的外部環境之外. 同時, 盲孔提供與一個或多個內部 PCB 層的外部層互連. 這兩個過孔在 HDI PCB 中是有益的,因為它們的理想密度被增加板的尺寸或增加 PCB 板的層數所剝奪.

盲孔對比. 埋孔

 

PCB微孔

微通孔可以使用激光鑽孔,因為它們的直徑小於通孔直徑. 由於在微通孔內很難鍍銅, 它們只有不到兩層的深度. 因此, 當 Via 的直徑很小時, 鍍液的均鍍能力變得更高, 從而形成化學鍍銅塗層.

PCB微孔

根據它們在板層中的位置, 微通孔分為堆疊跳過或交錯.
• 堆疊過孔——它們可以通過在不同層中相互堆疊來創建.
• 交錯過孔——這些過孔可以分散在幾層中, 雖然它們很昂貴.
• 跳過過孔可以穿過一層, 確保該層沒有電接觸. 因此, 跳過的層不能與通孔形成電連接.

PCB 過孔焊盤

由於高信號速度以及 PCB 組件的厚度和密度,發明了 Via-in-pad 方法. 標準的過孔結構和 VIPPO 可以使信號的路由能力和完整性特徵.

PCB 過孔焊盤

標準過孔的信號走線由製造商從焊盤到過孔進行跟踪,以避免焊料塗層洩漏到過孔中. via-in-pad 中的一個過孔放置在外部安裝組件的焊盤中.
這是通過首先根據 PCB 製造商的要求使用非導電環氧樹脂填充通孔來完成的. 然後, 過孔是, 和外套是斗篷收回土地空間. 由於此, 信號路徑擴展, 從而消除機會電感和電容的影響.
更重要的是, via-in-pad 減小了 PCB 板的尺寸並承載了一個小接地的尺寸. 這種方法最適合於 BGA 腳印. 要想獲得出色的結果,必須使用焊盤內過孔來實施背鑽工藝. 在過孔的其餘部分發現的信號回波通過背鑽去除.

PCB 過孔的組件

一種) 桶- 它是一種用於填充滲透孔的導電管.
b) 軟墊- 它將桶的所有末端連接到它的跡線.
C) 反墊- 這是一個用於將非連接層和桶分開的間隙孔.

PCB 過孔的組件

 

PCB設計中通孔的常見用途

• 信號路由 – 大量 PCB 板使用通孔進行信號路由. 然而, 較厚的電路板使用埋孔或盲孔, 而輕板只使用微通孔.

• 電源佈線 – 大多數 PCB 板中的過孔都使用寬通孔來限制電源和接地網絡佈線, 雖然也可以使用盲孔.

• 逃逸佈線——較大表面貼裝的組件 (貼片機) 主要使用通孔過孔進行逃逸佈線. 微孔或盲孔最常用於逃逸佈線, 但是焊盤內通孔可用於固體封裝,如高引腳數 BGA.

• 拼接 – 通孔或盲孔可用於為平面提供多種連接. 例如, 一條帶有縫合過孔的金屬條圍繞電路敏感區域,將其與接地層連接以提供 EMI 保護.

• 熱傳導 – 通孔可用於從組件通過其連接的內部平面層向外傳導熱. 通常, 熱過孔需要密集的盲孔或通孔,這些過孔必須位於這些器件的焊盤中.

設計 PCB 時過孔的重要性

當你有一個簡單的電路板時, 不需要過孔. 然而, 只有在處理多層板時才需要過孔. 在設計PCB板時, 過孔是必不可少的,因為它們;

• 幫助您在多層板中創建出色的組件密度.

• 增加多層板中的走線密度,因為它們可以在不同方向上上下運行. 過孔允許不同的走線連接, 從而充當垂直連接因素.

• 當過孔未與 A 的佈線過程集成時 多層板, 組件最終被緊湊地放置.

• 促進各層之間的電力和信號傳輸. 只要您不想使用過孔,就應在單個平面上佈線 PCB 組件. 更重要的是, 多層 PCB 中的表面貼裝元件使得難以在單個平面上佈線.

過孔的 PCB 設計技巧

在 PCB 中使用過孔時, 必須考慮以下提示;

• 在設計 PCB 時, 有必要採用最大的通孔結構.

• 在交錯和堆疊過孔之間堆疊時, 考慮交錯的過孔,因為必須填充堆疊的過孔.

• 盡可能降低縱橫比以獲得出色的信號效率和電氣性能. 而且, 最小化 EMI, 噪音, 和串擾.

建議使用較小的過孔,因為它們;

• 通過減少雜散的電感和電容,您可以構建高質量的 HDI 板.

• 每次都填充via-in-pads, 除非它們在熱墊內.

• 永遠記住,固定 BGA 的焊盤矩陣可能包含盲孔或通孔. 當知道這, 確保您平整併填充通孔以避免焊點受損.

• 在設計 PCB 時, 必須知道通孔有助於固定條的焊點和熱量阻止設置, 這阻礙了在 QFN 接頭內部形成良好的焊點.

• 處理導熱墊時, 使用裝配車間而不是通孔. 只能通過在焊盤上方的阻焊層模板內部引入帶有窗玻璃設計的開口來實現. 這消除了設計過程中除氣和焊料融合的影響.

• 使用 BGA 封裝的位置始終注意通孔間隙和佈線組件中的最少痕跡.

• 始終填充焊盤內過孔的組件.

• 在組裝狗骨時使用預先確定的短走線將過孔與其焊盤分開.

• PCB 文檔需要一個鑽孔模板,每個孔和特征代碼都有 X-Y 點.

過孔處理

PCB 製造商對過孔進行額外處理,以幫助提高 PCB 的熱性能. 這些額外的處理還有助於消除一些組裝問題,例如填充, 覆蓋, 堵塞, 和導電填充物. 對過孔進行適當的處理是必不可少的,因為它們有助於消除昂貴的故障排除工作.

一種) 覆蓋 -. 這是製造商用來乾膜阻焊膜的典型工藝. 乾膜厚度為 4 毫米, 足以有效覆蓋大孔.

乙) 填充 – 製造商使用非導電環氧樹脂膏填充規則或被侵占的通孔. 這些填充過孔有幾毫米,可以阻止阻焊層到達焊盤. 這是一種用於中等密度 PCB 的出色技術,因為阻焊層可最大限度地減少焊盤和通孔之間焊料橋接的機會.

C) 堵塞——這種處理包括用不導電的環氧樹脂膏堵塞通孔末端,以防止在焊接過程中芯吸或焊料流過. 使環氧樹脂有效鑽孔, 通孔直徑必須小於 20 毫米. 製造商使用阻焊層覆蓋堵塞的通孔.

d) 導電填充——PCB 製造商使用純銅或環氧樹脂與銅填充導電膏的微通孔, 增強 PCB 的導電性. 導電填充技術可用於所有類型的過孔.

導電與. 非導電通孔填充

PCB 製造商使用一種稱為 Via Fill 的獨特製造方法來完全使用環氧樹脂封閉通孔. 過孔填充的一些主要優點是;

• 提高組裝產量

• 使表面貼裝更可靠

• 通過最大限度地減少空氣或液體卡住的機會來提高一致性.

非導電通孔填充使用鍍銅通孔傳導功率和熱量. 特殊的低收縮環氧樹脂用於填充通孔. 另一方面, 導電通孔填充使用分散在環氧樹脂各處的銅顆粒銀提供額外的導電性和導熱性.

非導電填充物的導熱係數為 0.25 寬/米, 而導電填充物的範圍從 3.5-15 寬/米. 相比之下, 電鍍銅導熱係數大於250W/mK.

儘管導電通孔填充通常在某些應用中提供所需的導電性, 仍然可以使用非導電膏添加額外的過孔. 出色的導熱性和導電性可降低成本影響.

通孔類型和通孔直徑的區別

下表討論了不同過孔類型的過孔直徑差異. 它還清楚地討論了過孔焊盤, 最小通孔直徑, 和精確的環形圈 PCB設計 使用基於其應用的過孔進行佈局. 而且, 該表顯示了在 PCB 中實施所必需的不同尺寸的詳細信息. 還提到了每種通孔類型的縱橫比.

通孔類型和通孔直徑的區別

 

選擇正確的通孔時要考慮的因素

通過了解可製造性設計為任何 PCB 項目選擇合適的通孔至關重要. 當您考慮進行任何 PCB 項目時,請務必考慮以下因素.
1) 過孔類型 – 為您的項目確定最佳的過孔類型. 當只有一個層壓可用而沒有過孔填充或技術時, 可能有一些大洞.
2) 過孔尺寸 – 10 mm 是標準 PCB 通孔尺寸或 7 PCB過孔電鍍後mm, 電路板的厚度決定了通孔尺寸. 機械和激光鑽孔的微通孔都有 4 毫米的孔.
3) 通孔容差——必須說明通孔尺寸的容差, 儘管大多數 PCB 供應商提供所有內部指南.
4) 支持最合適的技術——當您需要埋孔或盲孔時, 總是要求 PCB 供應商創建支持這種技術的疊層.
5) IPC 指南 – 必須嚴格遵循相關技術的 IPC 指南, 就像 PCB 製造商所指示的通孔之間的距離. 作為軍用 IPC 組裝指南, 班級 2, 班級 3, 和 Class 3DS 略有不同, 必須考慮它們.
6) 環形圈——因為過孔焊盤的尺寸非常重要, 確保鑽孔後過孔具有足夠大的孔環至關重要. 由於機械鑽在鑽孔時會有些漂移, 鑽孔可能會因沒有足夠的環形圈而受到損害.

 

分享這個帖子
威爾精通電子元器件, PCB生產工藝及組裝技術, 並具有豐富的生產監督和質量控制經驗. 在保證質量的前提下, 將為客戶提供最有效的生產解決方案.
滾動到頂部

What is PCB Via

What is PCB Via

PCB manufacturers are increasingly concentrating more on designing smaller printed circuit boards. Moko Technology isn’t left out; we integrate fewer through-hole components while incorporating more surface mount technology (SMT). For large plated through-holes, we are assigning less space on the board. Instead of plated through-holes, we are increasingly using SMT components. All our PCBs are designed to use vias.
A via refers to a plated-through hole found in PCBs used to track a trace from the surface layer of the board to the interior and other layers. PCB vias can be plated to form electrical connections, and they can be drilled mechanically.
Although vias are essential in multi-layered PCB boards, it is challenging to design and produce them. They build paths for the thermal current and electrical flow in between the different layers of the board. Essentially, vias are channels that differ in types and magnitude.

Types of PCB via

There are 5 PCB via types. They are;
1. Blind via – A blind via is a laser that transit from only one layer to the next.
2. Buried via – This type of a via is between internal layers and required when sequential or multi-lamination projects exist.
3. Through via – A through via links the two outer layers by drilling from top to bottom.
4. Micro-via – Micro-via is drilled using a laser rather than mechanically drilling, allowing less than 0.006 inches.
5. Via-in-pad – This via is positioned inside the surface mount component’s pad.

pcb via types

Common uses of vias in PCB design

• Signal routing – A large number of PCB boards use the through via for signal routing. However, thicker boards use buried or blind vias, whereas light boards only use micro-vias.
• Power routing – Vias in most PCB boards are restricted using broad through-hole vias as for power and ground nets routing, although blind-vias can be used as well.
• Escape routing – Components of the larger surface mount (SMT) mostly use the through-hole vias for escape routing. Micro-vias or blind vias are the most commonly used for escape routing, but a via-in-pad can be used on solid packages like high pin-count BGAs.
• Stitching – Through-hole or blind vias can be used to offer numerous connections to a plane. For instance, a strip of metal with vias stitched surrounds the circuitry sensitive area to link it with a ground plane for EMI protection.
• Thermal conduction – Vias can be used for thermal conduction from a component out through its connected interior plane layer. Usually, thermal vias require a dense blind via or a through-hole via where these vias must be in the pads of these devices.

Components of a PCB via

a) Barrel- It is a conductive pipe used for filling the infiltrated hole.
b) Pad- It connects all ends of the barrel to its traces.
c) Antipad- This is a clearance hole used to separate the non-connective layer and the barrel.

Components of a PCB via

PCB Micro-via
Micro-vias can be drilled using lasers as their diameter is smaller than through-hole vias diameter. As it is hard to plate copper inside micro-vias, they only have a depth of fewer than two layers. Hence, when the diameter of a Via is small, the throwing capacity of the coating bath becomes higher, thereby creating an electroless copper coating.

PCB Micro-via

According to their locus in the board layers, micro-vias are categorized into either stacked skip or staggered.
• Stacked vias – They can be created by stacking them above each other in different layers.
• Staggered vias – These vias can be scattered in several layers, although they are costly.
• Skip vias can be passed through a layer, making sure that the layer has no electrical contact. Hence, a skipped layer cannot form an electrical link with a via.

 

PCB Via-in-pad

The Via-in-pad method was invented because of the high signal speed and the thickness and density of PCB components. Standard via structures and VIPPO can make the routing capability and integrity features of a signal.

PCB Via-in-pad

The signal trace of standard vias is traced from the pad to the via by manufacturers to avoid solder coat leakage into the vias. A via in via-in-pad is placed in the external mount component’s pad.
This is done by first filling the via using non-conductive epoxy depending on the requirements of the PCB manufacturer. Then, the via is, and the coat is caped to retrieve land space. Due to this, the signal path expands, thus eliminating the effect of opportunistic inductance and capacitance.
More importantly, the via-in-pad reduces the size of the PCB board and hosts the size of a small ground. This method is most suited for components of a BGA footprint. It is essential to implement the back-drilling process using a via-in-pad when aiming to achieve great results. The signal echoes found in the remaining parts of a via are removed by back-drilling.

 

Blind Via vs. Buried Via

The buried and blind are used to link different layers of a PCB. The buried via offers inner layer interconnection as the board is entirely hidden from the PCB’s outer surroundings. At the same time, blind vias provide an external layer interconnection with one or many internal PCB layers. These two vias are beneficial in HDI PCB because their ideal density is deprived by increasing the board’s size or increasing the PCB board’s layers.

Blind Via vs. Buried Via

 

Importance of vias when designing a PCB

When you have a simple circuit board, vias are not necessary. However, vias are only required when dealing with a multi-layered board. When designing PCB boards, vias are essential as they;
• Help you create an outstanding density of the components in multi-layered boards.
• Increase the trace density in multi-layered boards as they can be run above and below one another in various directions. Vias permits different traces to connect, thereby acts as vertical connection factors.
• When a via is not integrated with the routing process of a multi-layered PCB, the components end up being placed compactly.
• Facilitate power and signal transmission in between the layers. PCB components should be routed on a single plane whenever you do not want to use a via. More importantly, the surface-mounted components in a multi-layered PCB make it difficult to route the parts on a single plane.

 

How to make a via in PCB

When designing a PCB, it is essential to make a via, except when a DIY Via Rivet gun is available. Follow the steps below when making a via-in circuit board.
1. Drill holes through the board’s copper pads.
2. In the drilled holes, a chemical is spread to soften the epoxy found on interior PCB layers. Furthermore, this discloses the internal layers of a copper pad further.
3. Use electro-coating to apply copper into the drilled holes.
Most manufacturers of PCBs put sacrificial vias on the design board’s components. Then, they cut them and scan the cross-sections to know the effectiveness of the electro-coating process.

 

Genius PCB design tips for vias

When using vias in a PCB, it is essential to consider the tips below;
• When designing PCBs, it is necessary to employ maximum via structures.
• When stack between staggered and stacked vias, consider staggered vias as stacked vias must be filled.
• Reduce the aspect ratio as much as possible to attain an outstanding efficiency of signals and electrical performance. Moreover, minimize the EMI, noise, and crosstalk.
It is advisable to use smaller vias as they;
• Allow you to build a quality HDI board by reducing the inductance and capacitance of a stray.
• Fill via-in-pads every time, except when they are inside thermal pads.
• Always remember that the pad matrix where the BGA is fixed may contain blind or through-hole vias. When knowing this, make sure you planar and fill the vias to shun solder joints compromising.
• When designing PCBs, it is essential to know that vias assist in securing the solder joints of the bar and thermal from blocking the set, which hinders the formation of excellent solder joints inside the QFN joints.
• When dealing with thermal pads, use an assembly shop rather than a through-hole. It is only be attained by introducing openings with a windowpane design inside the solder coat stencil above the pad. This eliminates the effect of outgassing and solder merging during the designing process.
• Use the BGA package’s location to always lookout for a via clearance and least trace in the routed components.
• Always fill the assembly of your via-in-pad.
• Use a pre-determined short trace to separate a via from its pad when assembling for a dog bone.
• A PCB documentation requires a drill template that has X-Y points for every hole and feature codes.

 

When to use a via?

Vias are used as routes for conducting thermal energy and signals from one layer to the other. Essentially, the more an IC disintegrates energy, the larger the number of vias are needed to connect its thermal pad to the external layers when distributing heat.
PCBs with more power and quick signals use several vias to connect the layers. Besides, rather than having a sole large via, it is advisable to use multiple vias. This method reduces inductance and offers different routes for current in case one via fails to perform.

 

Via Treatment

PCB manufacturers add extra treatment on vias to help increase the PCB’s thermal performance. These additional treatments also help eliminate several assembling issues such as filling, covering, plugging, and conductive filling. Suitable treatments on vias are essential as they assist in eliminating costly troubleshooting works.
A) Covering -. It is a typical process that fabricators use to dry film solder masks. The dry film has a thickness of 4 mm, sufficient to cover even large holes effectively.
B) Filling – Fabricators use the non-conductive epoxy paste to fill a regular or an encroached via. These filled vias have a few millimeters that stop the solder mask from reaching the pad. It is an excellent technique for use in PCBs of medium density as the solder mask minimizes the chances of solder bridging between the pad and the via.
C) Plugging – This treatment involves plugging the via ends with a non-conductive epoxy paste to prevent wicking or solder flow-through during the soldering process. For the epoxy to drill the hole effectively, the via diameter must be less than 20 mm. Fabricators use a solder mask to cover the plugged via.
D) Conductive filling – PCB fabricators use pure copper or epoxy resin with copper to fill micro-vias with a conductive paste, enhancing the PCB’s conductivity. The conductive filling technique can be used for all types of vias.

 

Conductive vs. non-conductive via fill

PCB manufacturers use a unique manufacturing method called Via Fill to close via holes using epoxy entirely. Some key benefits of via filling are;
• Increases the yields of assembling
• It makes the surface mounts to be more reliable
• Improves consistency by minimizing chances of stuck air or liquids.
Non-conductive via fill conducts power and heat using copper-plated vias. A special low shrinkage epoxy is used to fill the via. On the other hand, conductive via fill provides additional electrical and thermal conductivity using silver of copper particles dispersed all over the epoxy.
The thermal conductivity of a non-conductive fill is 0.25 W/mK, while that of conductive fill ranges anywhere from 3.5-15 W/mK. In contrast, the thermal conductivity of electroplated copper is more than 250W/mK.
Although a conductive via fill often provide the required conductivity in some applications, adding extra vias using the non-conductive paste is still possible. Outstanding thermal and electrical conductivity offers a less cost impact.

Difference between via type and via diameter

The difference of via diameter in different via types is discussed in the table below. It also clearly discusses the via pad, minimum via diameter, and annular ring of an exact PCB design layout using a via that is based on its application. Moreover, the table shows details of the different dimensions essential for implementing the in the PCB. The aspect ratio of each via type is also mentioned.

Difference between via type and via diameter

 

Factors to consider when choosing the right via

It is essential to choose an appropriate via for any PCB project by understanding the manufacturability design. Always consider the factors below when you think of undertaking any PCB project.
1) Via type – Determine the best kind of a via for your project. When only one lamination is available without a via fill or technology, possibly there are some large holes.
2) Via size – 10 mm is the standard PCB via size or 7 mm after PCB via plating, where the board’s thickness determines the via size. Both mechanically and laser-drilled micro-vias have 4mm holes.
3) Via tolerance – It is essential to state the tolerance of the via’s hole size, although most PCB providers provide all in-house guidelines.
4) Support the most suitable technology – When you require either a buried or blind vias, always ask the PCB suppliers to create a stack-up that supports that kind of technology.
5) IPC guidelines – It is essential to follow the IPC guidelines for the allied technology strictly, like the distance in between the vias as directed by the PCB manufacturer. As the IPC assembling guidelines for military, Class 2, Class 3, and Class 3DS differ slightly, it is essential to consider them.
6) Annular ring – As the via pad’s size is quite important, it is crucial to ensure that the via has a large enough annular ring after drilling. Since mechanical drills wander a bit when drilling, the breakout drill can compromise via no sufficient annular ring.

 

Scroll to Top